bears, babies and elephants

Original nursery artwork // Laura Konyndyk Illustration

Did you know that my older sister Robyn has three insufferably cute daughters and that my other sister Julie is expecting in January? That means they’ll be another baby to fawn over and (eventually) another toddler to chase around at family gatherings. It’s going to be fun.

I bring this up tonight because Julie’s thoughtful husband Matt recently commissioned me to create an illustration for their nursery (as a surprise anniversary gift). I really enjoyed this project, but it did take me a while to achieve the look I had in mind. Inspiration wasn’t hard to find (nursery art is all over the internet) but I wanted this to be just right.

Julie had mentioned to me in passing that she’d like to use primary colours for the nursery, and because they aren’t going to find out the gender in advance I didn’t want to veer too much towards traditional “girl” or “boy” themes.

But I did decide that hanging out in baby’s room should always feel like a party.

… and that animals should wear pointy party hats whenever possible.

Original nursery artwork // Laura Konyndyk Illustration

I’m hoping that Matt and Julie will find their photographer of choice and recreate the illustration below once baby arrives!

Original nursery artwork // Laura Konyndyk Illustration

Want to request something special for the new mamas and papas in your life? Talk to me!

2 thoughts on “bears, babies and elephants

  1. Pingback: Past Due « We So Thrifty

  2. Pingback: Past Due « Julie Van Can!

Leave a Reply

